You Can’t Handle the Truth

You hear bad stories all the time of kids doing gross things and you think “I am so glad that didn’t happen to me”. You should be thinking “Please Lord, don’t let that ever happen to me, EVER!”. Chances are it is going to happen. Maybe not, if you only have one child, but two basically guarantees a gross event to come into your life. This week my friend told me she walked into her daughters room when she woke up and her 2 year old was playing with the poop in her diaper and wiping it all over the crib and the sheets. I would have thrown up. Right on my child. And if I would have been pregnant I would have thrown up and then left my child in the room and called the police or my mom or someone who could handle that because when I am pregnant I can throw up at a moments notice. My poor friend. I feel for her. I should have never patted myself on the back after that call with her and thought “I’m so glad gross things haven’t happen to me”. I have changed my tune now.

C has been sick for what seems like eternity. She is now one and still does not sleep through the night. In fact, she wakes up 2-3 times a night which has left me like a walking zombie. I have serious bags under my eyes…like giant publix bags. Walmart bags. After one week of her cold, I felt that it may have crept into her ears and I took her in to the pediatrician last week to take a look. Sure enough antibiotics were prescribed and I thought she would be back to normal in a few days. Tuesday we had her one year check up scheduled and while she was still snotty, she seemed okay. Tuesday night she came down with a fever and after 3 days I took her back to see the doctor because I was not about to enter the weekend unprepared. I begged my way in. She had 101.7 fever and she was lethargic, still on antibiotics!! The nurse brought me Advil and the doctor walked in. I love my doctors office!! All of the physicians are wonderful but the two young ones are especially awesome because they have young kids and can empathize. I started explaining her symptoms to the doctor as C rested her head on my shoulder. All of a sudden I felt her burp and liquid starts pouring out of her. Kind of like when people funnel beer, except this was like funneling it out. I was in complete disbelief. This has never happened to me let alone baby C. I quickly faced her forward and a second round of … stuff… projectiled across the room. It hit the doctor and her gorgeous patent leather heels were covered with throw up. My mouth just dropped open. She brought me a trash can as C decided to hurl round three and she asked me if I could try and get some of it into the trash instead of all over the floor. Oh yeah, I guess that would be a good idea. Although I seemed to be frozen with her in my arms trying to figure out what was taking place. How was I going to keep her warm now that she was soaked in puke? I didn’t bring a back up outfit. Dumb. Poor thing. I put her down standing in front of the trash can and she didn’t move. I looked down to assess my damage and my cowl necked wool sweater had throw up hidden in the rolls and all down the sweater. I had streams rolling down my jeans. I threw up in my mouth. I wanted the trash can too but too many people were around. The doctor had left the room but not after cleaning some liquid off her shoes. She was pulling the troops together so the room would be cleaned. She came back and told me to take off her onesie and put her jacket on her to keep her warm. She told me not to give her Advil as she would not be able to keep it down. She told me to grab my things and go to room 7. This is why she is a doctor. I hadn’t moved yet. I was still trying to utter an apology and figure out how to function with puke hanging out so close to my nose. Thank goodness Superman arrived, AKA husband, and scooped up the baby and let me put myself together. Diagnosis: A virus. A virus? Antibiotics for a week with an ear infection and then a virus? I know, you are sooo jealous of me. Do you have children? Oh it’s coming!

This serves as a little snapshot of a day in the life of a sleepless working mom. Now pat yourself on the back and be glad this has never happen to you and then prepare yourself because you are next. I just sent you cooties through the blog. Enjoy. Xoxoxo!

“I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God. And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:18, 26-28 NIV

5 thoughts on “You Can’t Handle the Truth

  1. Oh, so awful! Yes, we all have those horrible, messy moments, and you’re right, it only gets worse with 2 kids! Great bible passage at the end – so appropriate!

  2. When I get home I’m going to help
    You already have the best encouragement from that Bible verse. But I did go through the poop being thrown all over the room. Lv u

  3. Oh, that is so funny! I can relate completely! You have a real knack for describing the situation so well. I’ve had the same poop experience but not the vomit one. As hard as it is, this is one season in your life, and will pass. Then you will look back on it as a memory you treasure dearly. 🙂 JS

Leave a Reply

